Saints head coach Sean Payton didn’t waste any time speaking to the league office about a non-call on Rams cornerback Nickell Robey-Coleman for pass interference near the end of regulation in the NFC Championship Game.
Payton didn’t much like what the office had to say. At his postgame press conference, Payton said that he has never seen a more obvious pass interference call and said that NFL officiating head Al Riveron told him that the officiating crew led by referee Bill Vinovich missed the call.
“They blew the call,” Payton said. “There were a lot of opportunities, but that call makes it first-and-10 and we’d only need three plays. It was a game-changing call.”
Payton added that the Rams made the plays they needed to win and the Saints had a chance to run more clock down on their…